Family Violence 2

Family Violence

There are various types of offenses in the Texas Penal Code that fall under the umbrella of family violence. If you are charged with causing bodily injury to a family member, you would be subjected to imprisonment up to one year in the County jail and a fine not to exceed $4000. This charge would be a Class A misdemeanor.

 

A second charge of causing bodily injury to a family member with a prior conviction of the same results in a term of imprisonment up to 10 years in the Texas Department of Corrections. This charge would be a third degree felony.

 

In 2009 the Legislature passed a new type of family violence assault. If you cause bodily injury to a family member by strangulation or impeding the normal breathing or circulation of blood flow by applying pressure to the neck or throat or by blocking a person’s mouth or nose, you would be facing up to 10 years in the Texas Department of Corrections. This charge would also be a third degree felony.

 

If a person commits an assault against a member of their family two times in 12 months or less they would be facing up to 10 years in the Texas Department of Corrections. This is loosely called Continuous Family violence. This offense is a third degree felony. Despite never being previously convicted the government can use an unadjudicated offense to enhance your time in prison.

 

If an assault causing bodily injury to a family member results in causing serious bodily injury due to the use of a deadly weapon, you would be facing up to life in the Texas Department of Corrections. This is commonly referred to as Aggravated Assault on a Family member. This charge would be a first degree felony.

 

If you are charged with an offense involving family violence you need to contact an experienced criminal attorney. Contact Townsend, Gebhardt and Eppes today.

FREE CONSULTATION

    OUR OFFICE

    Burk Burnett Building

    500 Main St #640

    Fort Worth, TX 76120

    DIRECTIONS