(817) 502-3600

Free Consultation

Repeat DWI

Although a first arrest for driving while intoxicated (DWI) charge might be a one-time case of bad judgment, judges and prosecutors take a less forgiving view of a second or subsequent offense.

Also, the statutory scheme for DWI penalties and punishments depend on whether the DWI is a first, second, third or subsequent offense.

Anyone arrested for DWI with a prior arrest or conviction can face very harsh consequences the next time around. People facing repeat drunk driving charges should immediately seek experienced legal representation.

Fort Worth Repeat DWI Lawyer

Have you been arrested for a second, third, or subsequent drunk driving offense in the Lone Star State? Townsend, Gebhardt & Eppes, PLLC has over three decades of combined experience handling these types of cases on both sides of the aisle, giving our firm a unique understanding of the best ways to approach the charges. We handle the following types of repeat DWI cases:

Our Fort Worth DWI attorneys defend clients in Parker County, Johnson County, Tarrant County, and other nearby communities in North Central Texas. You can have our lawyers review your case by calling 817-502-3600 today to set up a free, confidential consultation.

Tarrant County Information Center for Repeat DWI

Back to top

Repeat DWI Penalties in Texas

The possible punishments for additional DWI arrests steadily increase with each subsequent offense. For a second DWI conviction in Texas, the law requires:

  • At least 30 days up to one year in jail;
  • A fine of up to $4,000;
  • One month to a year in jail;
  • Loss of driver license up to two years; and/or
  • Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license.

The penalties and punishments for a third DWI in Texas require:

  • A $10,000 fine;
  • Two to 10 years in prison;
  • Loss of driver license up to two years: and/or
  • Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license.

A judge may also order people to complete DWI education programs, participate in counseling sessions, and perform community service.

Back to top

Ignition Interlock for Two or More DWI Convictions in Five Years

Another potentially costly consequence of being convicted of a repeat drunk driving offense is that judges may require alleged offenders to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in every vehicle they own and/or drive after two or more DWI convictions in five years. An IID is an electronic device installed in a motor vehicle that requires the driver to provide a breath sample before the automobile will start.

Alleged offenders are not only responsible for the cost of installing these devices, but they also have to pay monthly calibration fees. If the IID detects any alcohol on their breath, the vehicle will not start and the violation is reported to the Texas Department of Public Safety.

Back to top

Tarrant County FAIP Program

Certain alleged offenders charged with felony level DWI offenses may be eligible for the Felony Alcohol Intervention Program (FAIP) in Tarrant County. FAIP is a five-phase program involving four years of intensive probation.

Eligibility for FAIP requires that an alleged offender be:

  • 17 years of age of older;
  • A United States citizen or permanent resident;
  • A resident of Tarrant County;
  • A person with no prior or pending “3g offenses” (a special category of violent crimes listed under Section 3g of Texas Code of Criminal Procedure § 42.12 that includes murder, capital murder, indecency with a child, aggravated kidnapping, aggravated sexual assault, aggravated robbery, Texas Controlled Substances Act violations involving use of a child in the commission of an offense or commission in drug-free zones, sexual assault, injury to a child, elderly individual, or disabled individual, sexual performance by a child, first-degree felony criminal solicitation, compelling prostitution, trafficking of persons, or burglary);
  • A person with no prior intoxication manslaughter convictions;
  • Not currently on parole; and
  • Not on community supervision in another county.

If alleged offenders are approved by the FAIP team for acceptance into the program, they must submit to a variety or alcohol and drug monitoring during the terms of their probation. Failure to comply with the program sanctions can result in a seven-year prison sentence.

Back to top

Texas Resources for Repeat DWI Defenses

Fort Worth Central Office of Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) — People who have been convicted of multiple DWI offenses may be ordered to attend AA meetings. The international fellowship uses a 12 step program and has meetings all over the world. On this website, you can explore the various meetings in the greater Fort Worth area and learn more about AA’s 12 steps and traditions.

Fort Worth Central Office: AA
1501 Hemphill Street
Room A
Fort Worth, TX 76104
(817) 922-9859

Faces of Drunk Driving — When the Faces of Drunk Driving public service campaign was launched by the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) in 2012, a person was being injured or killed as the result of an alcohol-impaired driver in the Lone Star State, on average, every 31 minutes. The website provides personal accounts from victims, families, and other people whose lives were forever altered by intoxicated drivers.

Back to top

DWI Defense Attorneys for a Repeat DWI in Fort Worth, TX

If you are facing drunk driving charges after being previously convicted of DWI in Texas, it is in your best interest to make sure that you retain skilled legal counsel. Townsend, Gebhardt & Eppes, PLLC fights to protect the rights of clients facing DWI charges in Fort Worth, Arlington, Weatherford, Cleburne, and several surrounding areas of North Central Texas.

Our Forth Worth criminal defense attorneys have more than 30 years of combined legal experience with various all kinds of drunk driving cases. Call 817-502-3600 or submit an online form to have our lawyers provide a complete evaluation of your case during a free initial consultation.

Back to top