Texas has some of the strictest laws in the country regarding driving while under the influence or driving while intoxicated. When it comes to being charged with a DWI, (or DUI as it is called in many other states), there are some serious repercussions to consider. DWI stands for “driving while intoxicated” and is generally used to refer to driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
If you are charged with a DWI, this is a serious offense that can result in the loss of your license or even jail time. Conviction for a first-time DWI can result in a fine of up to $2,000, a driver’s license suspension, and maximum sentence of 180 days in jail. Once you add in other costs (such as bail, legal fees, court appearances, court-ordered classes, and insurance premium increases) the real out-of-pocket expense can be well over $10,000.
It is important that you start to think about what might be a good defense if you are charged with a DWI in Texas. The first step is to contact a lawyer like those with Townsend, Gebhardt & Eppes, PLLC. A good DWI defense attorney is going to be able to help you through the steps that are necessary to get your defense moving.
Your attorney can look at the facts of your case and see what is the best defense. For example, in order for the police to make a lawful traffic stop, there must be reasonable suspicion of a law violation. This includes things such as violating a traffic rules, speeding, erratic driving, failure to come to a complete stop, swerving, etc. Reasonable suspicion has to be based on articulable facts that some kind of violation has occurred. This standard is a lower than that of probable cause. Often courts may defer to the judgment of law enforcement on the issue of reasonable suspicion.
It’s critical that you have a great lawyer on your side to help provide the best defense possible. A DWI is a serious offense, but having a good lawyer on your side like Townsend, Gebhardt & Eppes, PLLC will ensure you get the best representation for your rights.