In several states, including Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada, Alaska, Colorado, Massachusetts, and Maine, it’s legal to have marijuana for both recreational and medical purposes.
What about Texas, though? As of right now, there are no such laws being passed for either recreational or medicinal purposes.
There are other states that allow its residents to have marijuana for medicinal purposes. These are North Dakota, Montana, New Mexico, Arizona, Minnesota, Michigan, Illinois, Arkansas, Louisiana, Florida, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware, and Maryland.
Texas is missing from that list. If someone has marijuana in Texas, the punishment is often quite severe. Contingent with how many convictions the accused has, if they have other drug paraphernalia, how they stashed the drug, the quantity, and the drug type, the sentence may be more or less serious.
Possession of marijuana under 2 ounces is a Class B misdemeanor. This carries a range of punishment of up to 6 months in county jail and up to a $2,000 fine.
Possession of marijuana between 2-4 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor. The accused may have to pay a $4,000 fine or spend 1 year in county jail.
If you’re dealing with a marijuana misdemeanor, whether that’s Class A or Class B, you need a marijuana lawyer to avoid huge fines or a long jail sentence. At Townsend, Gebhardt, & Eppes, PLLC in Fort Worth, we can work with you to make sure you’re fairly represented in court.
Our criminal defense lawyers specialize in drug offenses, first-time offenses, juvenile offenses, and marijuana defense. Call us today at 817-502-3600 for your free consultation.