Teenagers are a complex group who do not always think through their actions. A teenager DWI in Texas is a serious offense and you do not want to overlook the legal challenges of the situation. At Townsend, Gebhardt & Eppes, PLLC, we understand that you may have questions when you teenager is charged with a DWI. We provide the legal assistance and guidance you need to help your son or daughter.
Teach Your Children Their Rights
Your child has the right to remain silent, even when being charged with a DWI. Make sure your child knows his or her rights and tell your child not to speak to the police until they have a lawyer present. Make them aware of their right to an attorney. Ensure they are fully aware that they should not say anything to avoid incriminating themselves. They don’t want to inadvertently admit to driving while intoxicated.
Contact a Lawyer
Do not assume that your teenager will be fine in the justice system. The consequences for driving while intoxicated in Texas are harsh, particularly on teenaged offenders. At Townsend, Gebhardt & Eppes, PLLC, we help defend your teenager against the charges of a DWI and we make sure that we fully understand the situation before going into the courtroom. We help you identify when the police overstep the bounds of the laws in regards to underage offenders. We also make sure your child has the appropriate defense for their charges.
Ask for an Analysis of the Breathalyzer Test
Breathalyzer tests are part of the process when your child is charged with a DWI. The problem with the test is that it may not be accurate in every situation. The technology was developed in the 1970’s and has not been updated in several years. That means it is not always an accurate measure of your child’s blood alcohol level.
Prepare for the Consequences
Texas takes teenager DWI charges very seriously. You can minimize the charges by casting doubt or raising questions about the validity of the tests or the actions of the police. However, the consequences of a DWI may be harsh. If a person is younger than 21 years of age and has any detectable amount of alcohol in their system, their license, permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle will be suspended for not less than 60 days. If this is a first DWI offense, you should also expect your child to face a fine of $2,000 or more and up to 180 days in a detention facility.
Texas considers a teenager DWI to be a serious offense due to the risks to the driver and others on the road. When your teenager is charged with the offense, you want to take action by contacting Townsend, Gebhardt & Eppes, PLLC for assistance with their case.